Shoebox Cafe Tuition & Childcare

Private Tuition & Childminding WILTSHIRE
(Corsham, Box, Melksham, Chippenham, Bradford-On-Avon)

Primary KS 1&2 and KS3 ENGLISH, MATHS, Piano & Music Theory and more...

Phone Miss Samantha Rix on 07563862808 or

NEW WEBSITE: SHOEBOXCAFE (was samantharixtutoring)

£28 per hour pp
Group Rates - Contact me for more information on group rates.
GCSE, A Level support in Art - £30 per hour
N.B I offer a 15% discounted hourly rate if students travel to my address in Corsham.
£5.00 per hour per child 
(Includes outings, snacks & drinks with an additional £1.50 per meal per child if this provision is required)

Bachelor of Education Degree with 12 years experience, CRB checked, Public Liability Insured with PACEY and fully registered with OFSTED, on ChildcareFirst Tutors, TutorHunt Netmums, and a member of Home-School Tutoring's Team in Wiltshire.
A bit about me...

I am a fully qualified Primary School Teacher currently at Bathford CE Primary School, near the beautiful city of Bath. I offer TUITION & CHILDMINDING to families in my local area which I love. I offer support in Primary KS 1&2 and Secondary KS 3 or GCSE ENGLISH, MATHS and SATs/11+ preparation. I also teach Piano Age 7 to Adult. It's never too late to learn something new! I am very passionate about helping children or adults with particular learning difficulties and perhaps those with emotional needs. Therefore, I am currently studying a Diploma is Child Psychology and offer Personal, Social and Health development support primarily taught through creative craft activities.I hold a Bachelor of Education degree in Primary Education, specialising in English. I am OFSTED registered and DBS checked for quality assurance and public liability insured. I also have a level 3 in Childcare and Early Years, plus First Aid which is up to date and reviewed regularly, a full driving license and own car. I accept childcare vouchers, funded hours for 2, 3, and 4 years olds and I'm registered for Tax-Free Childcare.

I have been teaching in a variety of primary schools and childminding within an out of school hours holiday club environment or in their home or mine, both in the UK and Internationally (Asia) for the past 12 years. Over the years I have offered private tuition to support pupils in need alongside my regular teaching jobs and thoroughly enjoyed planning daycare activities outside of the classroom! I enjoy both classroom and private one to one, small group teaching or childminding and have taught/cared for over 500 children in total. My favourite subjects are Art & Music. I have recently become a new mum and thoroughly enjoy learning every day with my son. Motherhood is simply amazing!
I grew up on Dartmoor and loved running about in the fields, climbing Tors and collecting stones in rivers. I once caught a trout when fishing which my father sold in his pub as dish of the day! I attended Torquay Girls Grammar School, completing English, Art and Geography A levels. At the same time I completed grades in music for singing, piano, flute and clarinet. I also loved Drama club, cookery and textiles classes. I always knew I wanted to be a teacher, so I completed my BEd at Plymouth University. In my spare time now as an adult, I enjoy painting and making jewellery or crafts for fun and I often publish my art here online. I have always loved travelling and was fortunate to see many places during my childhood.
Once I had taught in the UK for a few years, I decided to embark on my own travels and teach abroad at the same time. I worked in a British International School in Penang, Malaysia for 3 years. I met an extraordinary group of people from all areas of the globe. I had a fantastic time. Whilst out there I visited many other places. My favourites were Thailand, Vietnam, Japan and Cambodia. 
Key skills and responsibilities I have had during my career on top of classroom teaching so far have been; Literacy & Assessment Co-ordinator, IPC International Primary Curriculum Developer, Thinking Skills Trainer, Art Leader, PSHE Personal Social and Health Education leader, pastoral care and I've lead staff training and parent workshops in Reading, Writing, Maths and Art.
I adore my job which is why I dedicate myself to supporting students at home, outside of school hours. Sometimes, we just need a little bit more help and practice. 
Tuition information...
All the lessons I provide are tailored to your specific learning needs. I offer an initial assessment introduction lesson for every new student. During this lesson, we build a personal development plan for future lessons. If after this first lesson, you wish to continue, I then sell each student a block of lessons worth 10 hours of tuition, which is paid in full at the end of the first hour. This advanced payment secures your future booking slots and the commitment to continue. During all lessons, feedback is provided to ensure confidence and knowledge of how my students can achieve their goals. At the end of each block of lessons I will complete an assessment review in verbal and written form to highlight successful progress and next steps. At this point, a new block of 10 hours can be purchased if you would like to continue. Please note, the 10 hour block must be completed within 12 weeks of the purchase date. This is to ensure continuity of learning progress. Best results are seen when a student has 1 to 2 hours a week. 
I understand that at times due to unforeseen circumstances, lessons may need to be cancelled/rearranged. I operate a 48 hour cancellation policy. If a student fails to cancel a booking 48 hours prior to our arranged date, they will still be charged at the full rate for the lesson missed. I also will make sure that should I need to cancel and rearrange, I will provide at least 48 hours notice if not more. Please see my terms and conditions for more information >>> HERE.
Lessons are offered as one to one or small groups (for KS1&2), maximum 4 children. For group lessons, I offer discounted rates to support families. Some parents find it financially easier to create a small group of students so each child can enjoy their extra support with their friends and at a cheaper rate (piano lessons one to one only). Please contact me for more information on group rates.
I offer lessons in my own home at a cheaper rate of £24 an hour. I have suitable space, resources and equipment. For piano lessons, I own and play on the new Yamaha Clavinova CLP 545 which is a fantastic electric piano. It plays and sounds like a Grand Piano with superb features providing a huge variety of sounds, recording and listening playback options.
If you would like to begin tuition with me, I very much look forward to hearing from you and helping you achieve your goals.

Childminding Information...

I offer friendly, caring, patient, fun and dedicated care for your little ones. I am a fully OFSTED registered childminder and Primary School Teacher with over 12 years experience in Early Years and Primary education. I have a BEd Degree, I'm an active member of PACEY, fully insured and have a full driving license. 
I am a new mum and now offer childminding and private tuition to local families. My gorgeous son Thomas (15 months old) and I look forward to welcoming your little ones into our home for lots of fun! 
I deliver a very creative Early Years curriculum to all children under the age of 5 with a Cafè theme to encourage positive healthy eating, manners, knowledge of a huge variety of foods whilst developing their fine motor skills through cooking. I deliver engaging, motivating and creative learning experiences, differentiated for all abilities and aged children in my care. I provide all families with learning journals of your child’s developments during their time with me. I strive to provide excellent assessment feedback as being a parent myself, those milestones are precious.
In keeping with the Early Years Foundation Stage framework, I provide many different indoor and outdoor activities such as; PE (FUNS-Fundamental skills), sensory play, drama, puppets, den building, bouncy castle fun, singing & dancing, dressing up, arts & crafts, story time, music, sand and water play and free play.
My groups are small with a maximum of 3 children at a time with my son included to ensure high quality care at all times as well as encouraging friendly social skills.
The children and I enjoy Katherine Park which is right on my doorstep and we attend local playgroups, community childminding group events and activities in Corsham and we love wildlife bug walks!

Samantha Rix
Samantha Rix Tutoring, Corsham
For more information on classes and bookings, please call me on 07563862808 or
Follow me on FACEBOOK or Twitter @MissRixTeach
You can also view my Tutoring profile on TutorHunt and First Tutors with references, CRB and qualifications checked to provide extra reassurance to parents. 

Thanks to AllThePrettyThings, GreenGinger, Corsham's Tourist Information, PostOffice & Newsagents and The ArtPound Centre in Corsham for advertising in their shops. 


Popular posts from this blog

Why does teaching make me fat???

Private Tutor and Childminder GLENCARSE, PERTH & KINROSS

LEARNING LOGS - A fantastic idea for your class!